My poor baby has a terrible rash. I posted yesterday asking for advice about cloth diapers and suggestions on brand preferences. I’m doing a giveaway for all users that post a helpful comment on that blog post.

Anyway..after getting some help from a nurse from our clinic, I have mixed her advice and the advice of some friends and this is how today has gone so far.

This morning, I woke up at 4:30 a.m. to check on his diaper and change if neccessary. It was completely dry from my side peeking observations (I wasn’t going to wake him up!). So I left it.
I woke up again at 7:30 to check on him and change him. The nurse I’d spoke to told me to put him in a bath with 2 Tablespoons of Baking Soda for 10 minutes, 3 times a day, followed by diaper cream.
So I did:

This lasted for just over 10 minutes when he had a nice In-Bath-BM. This actually wasn’t so bad, since it meant not having to wipe him up to much, saving him the pain from his very rashy bottom coming in contact with a wipey. Speaking of wipes, the nurse also suggested NOT using regular diaper wipes and temporarily switching to paper towels and warm water. Which I’ve done and it seems to be less painful for him.

So this is the current state of his tub and toys. Soaking in Bleach Water.

After getting him out of the tub I quickly, loosley pinned on one of my cheap Gerber Pre-folds. I did this because a friend suggested giving him “naked time” to help his bottom air out, however with his increased BMs, I don’t think that’s entirely practical. However putting the cloth on him is perfect because it’ll catch a  mess but it’s so loose I could literally stick my hand in between his bottom and the diaper. Naked time without the naked.

I hope you caught all my little snippets of tips.
For cleaning up a dirty bottom and dealing with diaper rash at the same time I recommend:
1) Wiping with a cloth or papertowel and warm water. No Huggies wipes!
2) Tub with 2 Tablespoons baking soda, 10 minutes at a time, 3 times a day.
3) Bleach tub baby has a Bath-time-BM.
4) Very loose pre-fold for 5-10 minutes for Naked Time.
5) Wipe up any additional mess and secure a regular diaper (disposable or cloth, whatever you use).
6) Playtime or naptime.

Remember Momma, take time for yourself!


And don’t forget to check out my $10 Babies “R” Us Giftcard Giveaway.

This post is linked to Real Clean Wednesday: Flipping a Mattress.

